Staycation

I wake up reaching for the alarm clock, to check the time. It’s 2 pm, so I get up to go put on a decent set of clothes. But before I manage to do so, Eliza walks in using the key I left her. We say hi. The staycation begins.

Thursday marked the second month. Initially we agreed not to celebrate in monthly intervals. Which is why we ended up celebrating in monthly intervals anyway. Went shopping, and my feet hurt quite a bit, but it was fun. Ate ice cream near the end of the day, with cookie dough mixed in. Mmm…

Friday was pretty busy. Started out with the Lantern Parade, which was pretty… well, ok. I mean we saw a few of them go by, pretty cool, but we didn’t stick around to see all the really awesome ones. Got kinda tired of standing around. Then the politically-inclined lanterns go by, and to be perfectly honest, they were a bit unsettling. Which I suppose could have been the entire point. I get the why of it, at any rate, so I respect the efforts behind it and all, it just wouldn’t have been something I would have gone with. At any rate, Lantern Parade. Also pretty fun.

Friday, Part II was at Derps’ house (Derps doesn’t have a blog, that I know of, else I would have linked his name, of course). The org Xmas party, with 300% greater gender diversity! And 150% more liquor! Photos were taken, songs were sung, dice were rolled, and many lulz were had. Good times, good times.

Saturday was interesting. More shopping, with universal cues abound. For example:
Me: Daan tayong Fully Booked. Get a book maybe? Baka may mahanap kang gusto mo.
(30 minutes later)
Liz: HOUSE OF LEEEEEEEEEEEAVES!!! XD

And another (and I swear this actually happened):
Me: I have to throw this away. May basurahan kaya dun?
Liz: Hmm parang wala eh.
Me: Onga no. Pero sige check ko na rin.
It turns out where I’m headed is just some employee passageway, with no garbage cans to be found. But I walk towards it anyway, and lo, some guy rolls out a green plastic garbage container on a cart. I walk up to the janitor, and he notices the trash I’m holding, and with no words exchanged between us he opens the lid so that I could dispose of my garbage.

Oh Universe, you crazy crazy entity you.

Sunday is essentially “Fuck, it’s Monday tomorrow” day. But that’s alright. Because I really enjoyed our staycation.

One Response to “Staycation”

  1. Is this thing on?

    Okay.

    So yeah.

    I LOVE THIS POST. *dance*

    Also,

    with 300% greater gender diversity!

    WOOOOOOOOOOT.

Leave a comment